Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
I Was A Virtual Juror In An Aviation Disaster Settlement Case
0:00
-13:43

I Was A Virtual Juror In An Aviation Disaster Settlement Case

I'd never sat on a jury before. When I was offered a chance to be a virtual juror helping to decide an internationally known settlement case, I took it. It was challenging, painful, yet fascinating.
Federal Courthouse in Massachusetts

Have you ever sat on a jury? I finally did so. But yet I never left my home, nor even stepped into a courtroom.

I engaged in the complex experience entirely online, sitting on a virtual jury. More and more courts use online technology by employing virtual juries. Having never sat on a jury in person before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Movies such as 12 Angry Men or TV shows such as The Practice, Boston Legal or Matlock can teach us just so much legalese. Now, after having gone through the jury experience, I can safely say being a juror isn’t easy.

Share

This exacting process challenged me in nearly every way possible. I found it truly difficult at times to absorb and sort out so much information so quickly. Ultimately, I’m glad I was presented with the unusual opportunity to contribute to a well known legal case with major real world impact. This was an aviation disaster, and because there’s still ongoing litigation, I’m not disclosing the details. Although I’ll offer up what I can during my podcast discussion, and weigh in on the fascinating tech features which allowed this to happen for me.

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thanks!

0 Comments
Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
Love tech? So do we! We'll cover it all - from the latest mobile apps and hardware to the electric dreams of the promise of home robotics.