Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
The Severe Creative Limitations Of ChatGPT From Open AI
0:00
-22:51

The Severe Creative Limitations Of ChatGPT From Open AI

ChatGPT is all the trendy rage. It may spit out great form letters or even pass a medical exam, but when it comes to true creative writing, it comes up more than wanting.

ChatGPT is our fearful future. ChatGPT will take away jobs from lowly flesh and blood humans. It writes so much faster than a human. This A.I. will absolutely shock you as it’s so darn creative—

Hold up! Hold everything! Not so fast, me artificial intelligence lovin bucko. There are a few computing caveats to be sure. When we’re talking complex creative writing, ChatGPT is simply no star player.

ChatGPT may work quickly, and much of all new tech could be a possible future, it may even replace a job or two eventually. However, after using it extensively to churn out various bits of creative writing, this tech toy hasn’t overly impressed me. It is in no way going to replace creative writers anytime soon.

At least, that is, when it comes to crafting short stories and screenwriting for scripting films and TV show.

I figured I’d play with this new tech toy to see what all the fuss is about. So, I put the celebrated cyber auteur through its paces for a few weeks. I tasked it with writing movie scenes, TV show scenes (Star Trek series for example), short stories, songs and poems. I will say that its poetry and song lyrics came out pretty nifty. Even delightfully entertaining. As for script writing and short stories - meh, not nearly so much. C’mon my chatty ChatGPT chatters, let’s talk on just how well this evolving software scored after taking my creative writing exams.

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thanks!

0 Comments
Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
Love tech? So do we! We'll cover it all - from the latest mobile apps and hardware to the electric dreams of the promise of home robotics.