Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
I Saw A Droid At My Supermarket But It Wasn't As Cool As R2D2 In StarWars
2
0:00
-10:48

I Saw A Droid At My Supermarket But It Wasn't As Cool As R2D2 In StarWars

R2D2 would have been fun to watch in action in real life. This droid named TALLY simply rolled around getting in customer's ways checking inventory. It worked well, yet shoppers were annoyed by it.
2

Rollicking robots, devious droids or even smiling, androgynous androids. Call these electric, digitally powered automatons whatever you want, the fact is they’re coming soon to you in real life. For me, they are already here, getting in the way of my food shopping experience.

Actually, if you patronize a ShopRite supermarket, you may have recently seen these real life droids in dynamic action already. As it goes up and down the store aisles, it slowly scans and surveys its territory, careful, I’d imagine not to crash into customers or carts. Its name is TALLY and though it may work fairly well, it didn’t seem to please my fellow shoppers.

TALLY doing its job.

Unleash the Kraken! In this case, unleash the technology to change the way we fundamentally interact with our world. Welcome to shopping in 2023. Let’s talk robot employees and how we feel about them working in and sharing our store space.

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thanks!

2 Comments
Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
Love tech? So do we! We'll cover it all - from the latest mobile apps and hardware to the electric dreams of the promise of home robotics.