Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
Digital vs Discs - Your Video Library Evolves
0:00
-15:04

Digital vs Discs - Your Video Library Evolves

DVDs and Blu-Ray Discs or BD's were all the rage a few years ago. Now with choices such as streaming and digital outlets such as VUDU, Apple iTunes and Google TV your film and TV library evolves

Full disclosure, my ferocious film fans; I used to own thousands of DVDs. Yes, thousands of them, really. Then I started purchasing copious amounts of Blu-Ray discs or BD’s. It was my way of adding to my ever growing collection of films and TV shows.

And then, digital downloads came upon us….

Film Library

Ever since the magic of digital viewing, I’ve sold or given away many of my movie discs. I’ve now gone mostly digital. Digital downloads are instantaneous, cost less, usually, than DVDs or Blu-Rays and never get lost, old, scratched or stolen - and they won’t ever die. Pardon my last reference to all the Cocoon fans out there - which I own on DVD - but it’s really the case.

There are many reasons to go all digital download, but mainly you’re getting your title in a sort of immortal form. And you can watch it anywhere on nearly any device. C’mon my disc divas, let’s talk getting your movie and TV series fix the new flashy way - buy em through the cloud.

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thanks!

0 Comments
Sci-Fi Guy
Tech Trek
Love tech? So do we! We'll cover it all - from the latest mobile apps and hardware to the electric dreams of the promise of home robotics.