10 Comments

I personally have no desire for this, and find it odd that you'd even suggest it after reading your gut reactions to Picard, but wishes are free, right? 😉 Also, fact check: Star Trek: Nemesis was never popular. 😜

Expand full comment
author

I'd want a TNG animated show set in the classic timeline - not a Picard sequel TNG era. Say a show picking up from end of 7th season or maybe after Generations. I'd not want a Picard PP Trek show at all.

As for Nemesis, yeah, I didn't like it and I guess it made little money, so yup, ya got me there!

Expand full comment
author

But now, if anyone's being honest, Nemesis looks like a veritable masterpiece compared to PP Trek Picard. 😜

Expand full comment

Not having seen Picard, or indeed any Trek-branded shows since the disbanding of the original production teams in 2005, I'm sure I couldn't judge! 😎 I've not seen Nemesis in a while, and it might be better than I remember... Revisiting stuff you had disliked the first time, though, it's always an effort to overcome the emotional baggage.

Expand full comment
author

Cheers for your thoughtful assessment.

Yeah, Tom Hardy came out of 'Nemesis' and he's a big, respected and versatile performer, so you can argue that alone gives it even some merit. Hardy impresses and surprises with how unique and careful he picks most of his projects. I think it's safe to say most at least admire his Jean-Luc clone performance.

On the whole, however, Nemesis underwhelms even the most forgiving Trekker as sort of a lukewarm, muddled rehash of TWOK

Expand full comment

Aye, one can understand the desire to try to recreate the brilliance that is The Wrath of Khan - but every attempt fails. Nemesis did not strike me as being anywhere near as awful a Khan rehash as Into Darkness, which was a life-changing movie for me as it made me realise I could no longer co-operate with the strip-mining of authentic fiction to make mere mindless entertainment. That movie forced me to make a break with the Marvel cinematic universe as well. I decided to live by my principles, which is never easy, but fortunately doing so is its own reward.

PS: My kids are currently watching the original series of Ben 10, and it amused me to see an episode entitled "The Con of Rath"! 🤣

Expand full comment
author

Save for Cumberbatch's performance, ID is a big mess. It's like a generic stew trying to mix in as much recognizable tasty bits to satisfy. It only makes you spit it out in disgust. Abrams even sorta apologized for a lot of it and called his decisions 'mistakes'.

That's neat with Ben 10 - lol - I actually enjoyed first season myself, there's a lot of great energy with Ben's morphing and his Uncle and sis acting as team mates. Far more interesting animated show than so many modern titles.... Years ago, I was in line, checking in at a hotel for a Trek Con, and Bob Picardo came up behind me to also check in. He'd just finished work on a Ben 10 live action show. We chatted about his role and how much he enjoyed it.

Expand full comment

The weird thing about watching Into Darkness for me was how much it made me reassess the preceding film. My original impression was that it was fine for chewing gum entertainment... seeing the second film made me realise what I had given a pass to. I hope that makes sense.

And I didn't know Robert Picardo was in Ben 10: Race Against Time! My youngest loved this (which I assume was a pilot), but I've not yet seen it myself. I worked on a game for Turner the last time I lived in the US that included all their franchises, but I really didn't appreciate Ben 10 until my kids got into it.

All the very best!

Expand full comment