5 Comments

I must respectfully disagree that the Enterprise theme is a "cool pop song". I found it excruciating. I stopped watching because of it (although I did eventually go back and fill in the gaps that I'd missed). Your warp speed may vary.

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, the ENT song was definitely a novelty.

Though imagine if they'd ever use Roddenberry's lyrics for the original theme - lol - I don't how many realize he'd written lyrics for the TOS opener but they went unused. This was Roddenberry's legal , if not entirely ethical way, of claiming half the music royalties from composer Alexander Courage - which Roddenberry freely admitted to doing.

"Beyond

The rim of the star-light

My love

Is wand’ring in star-flight

I know

He’ll find in star-clustered reaches

Love,

Strange love a star woman teaches.

I know

His journey ends never

His star trek

Will go on forever.

But tell him

While he wanders his starry sea

Remember, remember me."

Expand full comment

I had encountered the lyrics - but not heard about the royalty-dodge before. There's apparently always more trivia to uncover! 🙂

Expand full comment
author

Apparently, Roddenberry was both creative visionary and businessman - not especially a common combo!

Expand full comment

Perhaps. But there is Astroboy creator Osamu Tezuka to consider... and he directly inspired George Lucas to play both games as well. 😉

Expand full comment