Sci-Fi Guy
Sci-Fi Guy
Meat Loaf Podcast: The Rocky Horror Picture Show Celebration
0:00
-8:02

Meat Loaf Podcast: The Rocky Horror Picture Show Celebration

Meat Loaf Gave Rocky Horror Its Rock Power

What are your memories of that one in a million powerhouse rocker Meat Loaf? What do you think of when someone mentions him? I think of Bat Out of Hell of course, but mainly I recall The Rocky Horror Picture Show - I think of Eddie and Hot Patootie his show stopping number in that classic motion picture co-starring Tim Curry, Barry Bostwick, Susan Sarandon and Richard O’Brien.

Despite Meat Loaf being in only one major scene - it was so memorable and powerful that I’d submit, I’d offer he’s one of the reasons the movie became such an outrageous cult classic.

CELEBRITY TRIBUTES TO MEATLOAF

A gentle hearted powerhouse rockstar forever and ever. You were so kind. Your music will always be iconic. I’m sure you’re singing concerts in the great beyond. Rest In Peace sir. #MeatLoafRIP #Meatloaf - Adam Lambert

Cher, who duetted with him on the 1981 track Dead Ringer for Love, recalled having "had so much fun" with the singer on the track.

In a 2010 interview with the BBC, Meat Loaf spoke about his distinctive and dramatic vocal style, which ranged over three octaves.

"[I] had an offer to study opera and make a lot of money but it wasn't for me - I'm too rebellious, too crazy," he said. "I made the right choices. I have no regrets. [It] might have saved some of my voice, you know - doing 200 rock shows a year will take it out of you."

Stephen Fry - I hope paradise is as you remember it from the dashboard light, Meat Loaf. Had a fun time performing a sketch with him on Saturday Live way back in the last century … he had the quality of being simultaneously frightening and cuddly, which is rare and rather wonderful …

Share

Leave a comment

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments