1 Comment

I have no direct experience of Hollywood, but I have plenty of experience with pitching - and I have to say, I'd hate to do it over the phone. Despite being frequently told 'that was the best pitch I ever heard', I never managed to sell a game from my own pitches (I have, however, set up others to pitch successfully). The reason is simple economics: I've always been pitching from zero, and in games it is now basically impossible to get publishers to sign over money for an idea. The last such pitch I know of anywhere in the games industry happened in 2015. The latest trend in videogames is that you don't even get to pitch - publishers will say 'send me your pitch deck', as if what you yourself had to say was irrelevant. How the business has changed in the last thirty years...

Expand full comment