Sci-Fi Guy
Sci-Fi Guy
Alex 7000: 'The Bionic Woman' Boasted A.I. Like HAL 9000
0:00
-11:19

Alex 7000: 'The Bionic Woman' Boasted A.I. Like HAL 9000

'Doomsday Is Tomorrow' is a 2nd season Bionic Woman episode, starring Lindsay Wagner. The sci-fi tale gives us a resourceful and dangerous A.I. - HALL 9000's little cyber brother, the Alex 7000.
No, that isn’t HAL 9000 - that’s his like minded A.I. cousin, Alex 7000

For fans of 1970’s TV science fiction, Jamie Sommers is The Bionic Woman - a cyborg or a cybernetic woman whose limbs are replaced with highly advanced electronic prosthetic devices, thanks to pioneering scientist Dr. Rudy Wells. Jamie’s ear, both her legs and her right arm are now artificial and super strong, capable of superhuman feats. Most any mainstream opponent who goes up against Ms. Sommers finds themselves at a distinct deficit.

And then, to make things really fun, along comes a super intelligent machine - the Alex 7000.

Just as the cinematic HAL 9000 went off his mission script to go toe to toe with Dave Bowman (Keir Dullea) on spaceship Discovery One, OSI operative Jamie Sommers (Lindsay Wagner) must use her bionics to stop an A.I. from literally destroying the planet. C’mon my dicey, dangerous A.I. lovers, let’s talk The Bionic Woman’s Alex 7000 - the deadly digital cousin of HAL.

Sci-Fi Guy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thanks!

0 Comments